Latest Addition to the Nobel Peace Family


Source: Independent

Source: Independent

A news worth clinking glasses for, right? First, lets divulge a little bit of known history. Alfred Nobel in 1985, established six Nobel Prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Physics, Peace, Economics, and Physiology or Medicine. It kicked off in 1901 and since then, every year, these awards which are internationally recognized, are bestowed upon individuals who have made remarkable achievements in any of these fields.

Source: Umu

Source: Umu

The Nobel Peace Prize (one of the six Nobel Prizes), is awarded by the Norwegian Nobel Committee in Oslo, Norway and so far, there have been only eleven Nobel Laureates for Peace from Africa. Their names and the dates in which they received the Nobel Peace Prize are as follows;

1. Albert Luthuli, South Africa 1960

2. Anwar al-Sadat, Egypt 1978

3. Desmond Tutu, South Africa 1984

4. Nelson Mandela, South Africa 1993

5. Frederik Willem de Klerk, South Africa 1993

6. Kofi Annan, Ghana 2001

7. Wangari Maathai, Kenya 2004 (First African woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize)

8. Mohamed El Baradei, Egypt 2005

9. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberia 2011 (You guessed right! Former Liberian President and second African Woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize)

10. Lymah Gbowee, Liberia 2011

11. National Dialogue Quartet in Tunisia which comprises of; the Tunisian General Labour Union, the Tunisian Human Rights League, the Tunisian Confederation of Industry and the Tunisian Order of Lawyers, 2015.

Okay, back to the present, three years after the Nobel Peace Prize last visited Africa (lol), it has been awarded to an African from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Dr Dennis Mukwege also known as the “rape surgeon” thus making him the 12th African to be awarded with a Nobel Peace Prize. The Congolese who was born on 1 March 1955, is an award-winning surgeon/gynecologist who treats cases of women who have been abused sexually. He provides both physical and psychological medical care to the victims. He works in Panzi hospital which he owns in Bukavu, Congo and has recorded over 40,000 treatments so far in his career.

Source: Panafrican Visions

Source: Panafrican Visions

Dr Mukwege was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize along with the Iraqi human rights activist Nadia Murad for their efforts in resolving and ending sexual violence. As tweeted by the Norwegian Prize Committee on Friday 5th October, 2018, “The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2018 to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.”

Big Congrats to him!! Or Félicitations!, like the Congolese would say.